Ajax All Stars

After a one-year hiatus, the Ajax All Stars return to the HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens with the aim of winning a third Masters title.

The famed Dutch side defeated Eastern Salon Top Class 6-1 in the 2012 final to claim their first Masters victory before beating USRC – BTS 1-0 after extra-time to win a second title in 2014.

Sandwiched in between their two victorious campaigns was a 2-0 final loss to Rangers All Stars, meaning Ajax are now seeking four successive finals at Hong Kong Football Club.

Founded in 1900, Ajax are one of the most decorated clubs in world football with the late Johan Cruyff, Rudi Krol and Johan Neeskens having all helped the Dutch side win a hat-trick of European Cups between 1971 and 1973.

More recently, household names such as Clarence Seedorf, Edgar Davids, Marc Overmars and Jari Litmanen were part of the star-studded line-up that defeated AC Milan to lift the UEFA Champions League in 1995.

And Litmanen, who won 137 caps for his native Finland, is one of several renowned players to have appeared at the HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens for Ajax.

Former Dutch international Aron Winter and Dane Kenneth Perez, who scored four goals in the 6-1 final win over Top Class in 2012, have also represented the Amsterdam club.

1Heineken CaffeP_MainLogo_Black