Atletico Madrid, Newcastle, West Ham stars top Soccer Sevens scorers

Newcastle United vs BC Rangers during day two of the HKFC Citibank Soccer Sevens 2015 on May 30, 2015 at the Hong Kong Football Club in Hong Kong, China. Photo by Xaume Olleros / Power Sport Images

Callum Roberts was Newcastle United’s top scorer at the Soccer Sevens with four goals. Photo: Power Sport Images for HKFC.

June 1, 2015: The sensational Samuel Saiz was the top scorer in the Main Tournament at the HKFC Citibank Soccer Sevens after scoring seven goals in Atletico Madrid’s six matches, finishing with his extra-time winner against West Ham in the Cup final.


The blond-bearded 24-year-old, a long-time Atletico B striker, was also named Player of the Tournament after match-winning displays throughout the two days.


West Ham midfielder Jaanai Gordon, who scored both of his team’s goals in the final, and Newcastle United striker Callum Roberts, who made his first-team debut in the FA Cup in January, both scored four goals in the Main Tournament.


Jaanai Gordon scored four goals, including both of West Ham's goals in the final (pictured).

Jaanai Gordon scored four goals, including both of West Ham’s goals in the final (pictured).

Benjamin Akoto Asamoah, scorer of Atletico’s first goal in the final, and Aston Villa striker Jerell Sellars, who played in 2013, were among several players to scorer three times.


Stoke City’s England U-20 midfielder Oliver Shenton, Wellington Phoenix duo Kwabena Appiah and Louis Fenton, Kitchee striker Juan Belencoso and BC Rangers striker Chuck Yiu-kwok also netted three goals.


Newcomer Marlon Harewood, 35, was the top scorer in the Masters Tournament with four goals for Citibank All Stars, who lost to eventual champions USRC – BTS in the Cup semi-finals.


Daniel Lins Cortes, also 35, scored three goals for USRC – BTS and was named the Masters’ Player of the Tournament, while Johnny Gbenda-Charles of runners-up Wallsend Boys Club also netted three times.


HKFC Citibank Soccer Sevens 2015


Top Scorers – Main Tournament

Samuel Saiz scores Atletico Madrid's extra-time winner in the final, taking his tally to seven goals. Photos: Power Sport Images.

Samuel Saiz scores Atletico Madrid’s extra-time winner in the final, taking his tally to seven goals.

7 – Samuel Saiz (Atletico Madrid)

4 – Callum Roberts (Newcastle United)

4 – Jaanai Gordon (West Ham United)

3 – Jerell Sellers (Aston Villa)

3 – Chuck Yiu-kwok (BC Rangers)

3 – Juan Belencoso (Kitchee)

3 – Oliver Shenton (Stoke City)

3 – Louis Fenton, Kwabena Appiah (both Wellington Phoenix)

3 – Benjamin Akoto Asamoah (Atletico Madrid)

2 – Han Jae-woong (BC Rangers)

2 – Harry Panayiotou, Jak McCourt (Leicester City)

2 – Lin Pei (Shanghai SIPG)

2 – Martin Ibarreche (Singapore Cricket Club)

2 – Eddy Lecynge (Stoke City)

2 – Alex Pike (West Ham United)

2 – Steve McGurgan, Sebastian Beer, Jack Cullinane (all Yau Yee League Select)

1 – Harry McKirdy, Riccardo Calder (both Aston Villa)

1 – Carlos Ramos Blanco, Samuel Villa Rodriguez, Ivan Perez (all Atletico Madrid)

1 – Hiromichi Katano, Roberto Fronza, Jason Eng (all BC Rangers)

1 – Cheng Kin-ho, Lau Hok-ming (both HKFA U-20)

1 – Jordon Brown, Tom Halder, Sebastian Fiedler, Michael Hampshire (all HKFC)

1 – John Ramage, Robbie Bacon, Niall Cox (all HKFC Captain’s Select)

1 – Kim Tae-min, Cheung Kwok-ming (Kitchee)

1 – Jack Barmby (Leicester City)

1 – Alex Gilliead, Adam Laidler, Jamie Sterry (Newcastle United)

1 – Wang Hongliang, Jiang Weiliang (Shanghai SIPG)

1 – Logan Rogerson, Joe Bell (Wellington Phoenix)

1 – Djair Parfitt-Williams, Josh Pask (West Ham United)

1 – Shunsuke Nakamura, Luca Merlone (Yau Yee League Select)

1 – Own Goal


Top Scorers – Main Tournament

Marlon Harewood, 35, was the Masters Tournament's top scorer with four goals.

Marlon Harewood, 35, was the Masters Tournament’s top scorer with four goals.

4 – Marlon Harewood (Citibank All Stars)

3 – Daniel Lins Cortes, Jorginho Rodriquez (USRC – BTS)

3 – Johnny Gbenda-Charles (Wallsend Boys Club)

2 – Mark Grainger (HKFC Chairman’s Select)

2 – Marcel Sossnowski (KCC Veterans)

2 – Matt Hulen (SCC Tigers)

2 – Lloyd Owusu (Wallsend Boys Club)

1 – Frank Sinclair, Dele Adebola, Jon Mackem, Darren Byfield (Citibank All Stars)

1 – Paul Fitzgerald, Simon Page (HKFC Chairman’s Select)

1 – James Grady, Ian Nelson (KCC Veterans)

1 – Brett Ormerod (Nottingham Forest Mobsters)

1 – Owen Monagahan, Mike Hemmingway, Yossi Azran (SCC Tigers)

1 – Andy Mitchell, Paulo Henrique (USRC)

1 – Michael Bridges, Robbie Elliot (Wallsend Boys Club)

1 – Own Goal